News Release

Prime Minister Harper establishes Advisory Committee on the Public Service

21 November 2006
Ottawa, Ontario

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today established an Advisory Committee of nine eminent Canadians to advise him and the Clerk of the Privy Council on the renewal and future development of the Public Service of Canada. The Advisory Committee will also report annually as part of the Clerk's report to the Prime Minister on the state of the Public Service, which is tabled in Parliament.

"The public service must continue to adapt to meet the changing realities of Canadian society and be well equipped to best serve Canadians in the coming years," the Prime Minister said. "This is particularly true as the current baby boom generation retires. The future development of the Public Service requires sound advice, innovative solutions and strong support from both within and outside government."

The Prime Minister announced that the Right Honourable Don Mazankowski and the Honourable Paul Tellier have agreed to serve as Co-Chairs of the Advisory Committee. The Prime Minister is pleased that such distinguished Canadians with longstanding involvement in both the public and private sectors have accepted this challenge.

The Prime Minister also expressed his appreciation to the following prominent Canadians who have agreed to serve as members of the Advisory Committee: Dr. Robert Lacroix, the Honourable Aldéa Landry, Dominic d'Alessandro, Barbara Stymiest, Lynton Ronald (Red) Wilson, Sheila Weatherill and Dr. Indira Samarasekera.

"Canada has been well served by its public service," the Prime Minister stated. "The Government is committed to have a strong public service that delivers results to Canadians."

The mandate of the Advisory Committee as well as biographical notes on the Co-Chairs and members are attached.